Dessert Time: French Toast Casserole


I realize that I have posted once today for a recipe, however necessity called as hubby ate an entire bag of kit kats last night for snack…he needed something for tonight.  Thought this might be more nutritious than that…

2013-01-25 15.23.19

French Toast Casserole

I realize that I have posted once today for a recipe, however necessity called as hubby ate an entire bag of kit kats last night for snack…he needed something for tonight.  Thought this might be more nutritious than that…

I have read in so many cooking sites the past few weeks that this is awesome so I have been watching hubby’s bread supply and just waiting to either bake homemade bread or take his overflow and do something to solve his night time sweet tooth.

This recipe was easier than I thought possible.

1/2 cup melted butter in a bowl

1 cup of brown sugar (I used sugar free pancake syrup instead)

1 tbsp vanilla

6 eggs slightly beaten

1 tsp cinnamon

mix together and add to a bowl of cubed bread (I used about 12 slices)

mix and add to a sprayed casserole dish and bake at 350 degrees F for about 45 minutes, check and if not quite done…sprinkle sugar on top to cause granulation on the top.  Not only does the house smell great, hubby already knows he has a snack for tonight with a big glass of milk.

That was it…  I did have a little Vanilla Sauce left over from the apple pie that I made the other night so I sprinkled that over top.

Simple, easy and tasty.

Happy Eating,

Tammye Honey

4 thoughts on “Dessert Time: French Toast Casserole

Leave a Reply

