Healthy Eating in a Pot


There is nothing nicer than cooking everything in one pot and then letting it simmer for dinner.

My hubby’s favorite way to eat eggplant is to dip it in egg, then in Italian breadcrumbs and deep fry it in my wok in Olive Oil.

deepfried eggplant

 

I love the draining rack on the side which also keeps the eggplant warm till he sneaks in and eats them lol.

The recipe for the pot of yummy is as follows:

1 medium onion diced

3 tbsp minced garlic

1 chopped eggplant

1 cup cherry tomatoes cut in half

1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms

1 pound ground beef or turkey

Olive Oil for bottom of pot.

I add the olive oil, onion and the hamburger to brown the hamburger then drain off the excess fat.  I add the remaining ingredients and allow to simmer till everything is cooked thoroughly.  (Takes about 30 minutes)

Today I had a little leftover spaghetti sauce and a few bowtie macaroni’s so I added them to the mixture and stirred well.

covered pot eggplant stewAdding a small tossed salad and the meal is complete.  Good for you low cost and yummy.

Happy Eating.

Tammye Honey

 

4 thoughts on “Healthy Eating in a Pot

  1. How does one cook eggplant and have it not come out slimey?? I’ve attempted eggplant on a few occasions and this occurred!!

    I figure there is an unknown art and talent for cooking it that I didn’t have. I salute you lovie!!

    I just might try it again using this recipe…..I’ll admit I am a little gun-shy 🙂

    • I have found that slow steaming or the deep frying in hot oil works wonders. Also, a fresh eggplant makes a difference. If the eggplant is older it will become slimy. A firm eggplant and adding a hint of sauce or tomato base seems to keep the slime from happening. Hope this helps.

Leave a comment